Reviews from our Facebook Page

The very sudden death of our dear father left my sisters and I bereft and overwhelmed. We contacted Tharp on the high recommendation of close friends, and we cannot say enough for how professional, thorough, organized, and intuitive the people at Tharp are. From the very first consultation, they truly listened to what we wanted and what we knew our father would have wanted when it came to final arrangements, funeral particulars, obituary details, etc. Everyone we met on the Tharp staff was personable, understanding, and responsive. We are so grateful we turned to Tharp for one of Life’s most important events; Tharp offers a wide variety of choices when it comes to final arrangements for your loved one. The folks at Tharp never once tried to “sell” us anything we weren’t interested in; they gently showed us options and understood immediately which direction our family wanted to go. Dad would have been very pleased, and my sisters and I were able to memorialize our father exactly the way we wanted to, thanks to Tharp.

Posted by Kathryn Nay Clay

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Virginia would like to thank Tharp Funeral Home and Crematory for their unbelievable generosity in donating over $20,000 to support our mentoring programs. Essentially, those funds will enable us to match 20 more children that are facing adversity with positive, caring adult role models. We are very grateful. It’s because of community minded businesses like Tharp that make it possible for needs to be met in the Central Virginia community.

Posted by Ash Gorman

The Free Clinic of Central Virginia is honored to count Tharp Funeral Home and Crematory as a Community Partner! As a Free Clinic we rely on volunteers to provide medical, dental and pharmaceutical services for our patients who are low-income and without health insurance. Tharp Funeral Home and Crematory’s generous financial contribution makes it possible for us to support hundreds of volunteers, purchase necessary equipment and medications, and maintain our healthcare facilities. Tharp’s recent donation leveraged over $75,000 in donated services and supplies, and allowed us to provide comprehensive primary medical and dental care to over 70 patients. Our patients greatly appreciate that Tharp gives back to the community in a way that has such a tremendous impact. Thank you!

Posted by Christina Delzingaro

We would like to thank the wonderful staff at Tharp. We cannot thank them enough for their kindness and assistance to our family during this difficult time.

Posted by Rene’ Sherwin

See all of Tharp Funeral Home’s Facebook Reviews & Ratings

 


Personal Reviews from Our Customers

The very sudden death of our dear father left my sisters and I bereft and overwhelmed. We contacted Tharp on the high recommendation of close friends, and we cannot say enough for how professional, thorough, organized, and intuitive the people at Tharp are. From the very first consultation, they truly listened to what we wanted and what we knew our father would have wanted when it came to final arrangements, funeral particulars, obituary details, etc. Everyone we met on the Tharp staff was personable, understanding, and responsive. We are so grateful we turned to Tharp for one of Life's most important events; Tharp offers a wide variety of choices when it comes to final arrangements for your loved one. The folks at Tharp never once tried to "sell" us anything we weren't interested in; they gently showed us options and understood immediately which direction our family wanted to go. Dad would have been very pleased, and my sisters and I were able to memorialize our father exactly the way we wanted to, thanks to Tharp.

December 5, 2015

“Years ago I was briefly employed by a large funeral home. The emotion of loss doesn’t easily mesh with the business of death. It requires a truly dedicated person with special skills to handle both on a daily basis. In my opinion, you are examples of the best in the profession. This comes from someone who knows more about your business than the average person does. I will certainly speak highly of Tharp in the future and recommend your firm whenever I get the chance.”

Michael E. Smith Lynchburg, VA December 5, 2015

On behalf of my mother, my brothers, and the entire Garbee family, I want to thank you for your exemplary care in making final arrangements for Clyde Lewis Garbee, Sr., this past week.
We are so pleased with every aspect of the services rendered by you and the entire staff at the Lynchburg location of Tharp Funeral Home. Every staff member served with compassion and respect for us. Your service was itself a tribute to my late father.
Thank you again for your graciousness and kindness you showed to us during our darkest hours.

the Clyde Garbee family December 4, 2015

"I would like to express my most sincere thanks to the staff of Tharp Funeral Home from my family for the superb job you did handling my father’s funeral. As a child who grew up in Lynchburg but moved away 12 years ago when I joined the military, I had no idea what funeral home to choose when my father passed away.

Unfortunately, I did not choose Tharp Funeral Home originally and upon my arrival in the Lynchburg area I knew I had made a grave mistake. Your competitor did not console me of my loss. They did not offer words of wisdom or advice. They did not even shake my hand or ask my name upon our initial meeting. After this encounter and one sleepless night I knew my father was in the wrong place.

The next morning I paid a visit to Tharp Funeral Home where I was warmly and honestly treated like a person who not only lost my father but my best firend. Specifically, I would like to thank Buddy Maxey who went so far above and beyond what he had to do that he truly made my father’s funeral everything it deserved to be and he earned my deepest respect as someone who is always honest and truly cares about his customers.

Additionally, I would like to thank Jennifer McFadden who assisted with my father’s life insurance claim. Her knowledge and expertise were outstanding and allowed me to focus on other pressing matters while she handled the claim.

In closing, as a member of the military we are often give “at a boys” and “Pats on the back” for serving our country. I find, at times, the same isn’t always true in the civilian sector even though you all provide an invaluable community service and I want to give my heartfelt thanks and appreciation for what Buddy and Jennifer did to help my family through this difficult time. To the entire staff of Tharp Funeral Home, Keep doing what you already do so well and I salute  you for a job well done and my highest recommendations.”

James W. Warf III, Maj, USAF Chief, Wing Weapons and Tactics December 3, 2015

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Virginia would like to thank Tharp Funeral Home and Crematory for their unbelievable generosity in donating over $20,000 to support our mentoring programs. Essentially, those funds will enable us to match 20 more children that are facing adversity with positive, caring adult role models. We are very grateful. It's because of community minded businesses like Tharp that make it possible for needs to be met in the Central Virginia community.

December 1, 2015

The Free Clinic of Central Virginia is honored to count Tharp Funeral Home and Crematory as a Community Partner! As a Free Clinic we rely on volunteers to provide medical, dental and pharmaceutical services for our patients who are low-income and without health insurance. Tharp Funeral Home and Crematory's generous financial contribution makes it possible for us to support hundreds of volunteers, purchase necessary equipment and medications, and maintain our healthcare facilities. Tharp's recent donation leveraged over $75,000 in donated services and supplies, and allowed us to provide comprehensive primary medical and dental care to over 70 patients. Our patients greatly appreciate that Tharp gives back to the community in a way that has such a tremendous impact. Thank you!

November 30, 2015

We would like to thank the wonderful staff at Tharp. We cannot thank them enough for their kindness and assistance to our family during this difficult time.

November 4, 2015

I just wanted to say again how much my family and I deeply appreciate the extraordinary service that your team provided for my dad’s service. Everything you did was way beyond expectations. It was clear to me that all of you at Tharp cared very much for him and that made our experience easier and more personal.

C. Brent Douglass September 3, 2015

We just wanted to say thank you to the Tharp staff for the kindness shown to us during the loss of our precious baby. It was such a difficult time for us but everyone showed so much compassion. We appreciate the time spent with us and the assistance given to help with decisions. We cannot thank you enough for everything you all did for our family but especially for the care shown to us during this hard time.

John and Alison Pettit July 27, 2015

"I just want to thank you for everything. You have helped me and my family through the worst possible time in our lives. The funeral and service was absolutely beautiful and I couldn't have asked for anything more. And my precious daughter, Amanda, was most beautiful. Thank you again so much to you and the rest of the staff involved for your continuous support through our difficult time."

Victoria Johnson May 26, 2015

“Kyle and I would like to express our deep gratitude for all the care in which you provided for our family after my grandfather’s (Nathan Powell) death. In a chaotic and difficult circumstance, you offered us peace of mind and secure arrangements. I am so glad for the opportunity to meet you and thank you for the good job you do! I appreciate all of your – and Tharp’s – kindness regarding Grandaddy’s funeral arrangements.”

Shannon and Kyle July 21, 2014

“I cannot begin to tell you how pleased I and my family are with the professional, compassionate and kind attention we received from everyone at the time my mother passed away. It was apparent their goal was to make everything easy and pleasing to us and they did an outstanding job.

I first attended a seminar there at the Bedford location in February 2006 and was so impressed. It was at that time I decided that Tharp should take care of my mother, as well as my husband and I when the time comes. Early in 2007 I met with Tharp to begin preplanning for my mother. I cannot commend you enough for the job you did. You made me feel we were the only family he had to take care of and put forth every effort to accommodate our needs and requests. Before we had finished the planning, I felt as if I were a part of a very special family…the Tharp family.

Little did we know that my mother would pass away soon after concluding the plans. My ten year old granddaughter had concerns about what was going to happen to her great-grandmother. My funeral director explained the cremation process to her (and the rest of my family) and by the time he finished, all her concerns had vanished and she was okay with everything. It meant a great deal to me that Davis took time with her so that she was no longer worried or concerned.

Everyone that came to my home or was part of the Memorial service was pleasant, compassionate and helpful. I appreciate everything that was done for my family. I certainly will recommend Tharp to all my friends.”

Donnis M. Honeywell July 21, 2014

“Tharp Funeral Home staff has always showed a positive professional attitude towards the needs of our family. There has been several occasions that their services were required and we were always very satisfied with their service in our time of need!”

Bob & Doris Williams July 21, 2014

“Just a short note to say how much I appreciate the kindness and concern that all of the folks from Tharp provided to my family. This was one of the darkest days of our lives and all of you took the time to provide the best of care to my family.
Please keep us in your prayers during this very difficult time.”

Sybil A. Frey July 21, 2014

"I would like to express my appreciation and gratitude for your care and consideration all through the trying time of my husband's death. All throught the process you were so very helpful and took care of detail I never even thought of. Also with having the pre-arranged plans in place, it made the process so much easier and that was such a blessing for Roland's sons and for me.
I also would like to express my thanks to Jared for his help and his kind and helpful care to the details, all his efforts were appreciated so much.
Thank all of you so very much for your TLC.”

Betty F. Riddick Moneta, VA July 21, 2014

"I want to take a moment to tell you how grateful we are. My mother would have been so pleased with how things turned out, which is the same sentiment shared with us by many of the family and friends in attendance. On a more personal note, I want to extend a special “Thank you” and a big hug to to everyone especially for how warm and comforting you were to me. I felt overwhelmed when all this began, I couldn’t believe how easy and seamlessly you made it all go. My mother never did anything half-way, or at the last minute. By making her arrangement with you in 2002, she once again proved that fact. My entire family was impressed and I am very grateful Momma’s funeral was perfect. She would have expected nothing less."

Anne Wagner Lynchburg, VA July 21, 2014

“Mom and Dad had pre-planned everything, so I really had very little to do when Mom passed away. My parents decided to preplan when my aunt and uncle did, and how grateful I am to them for choosing Tharp. They continue to look out for me even with their deaths. I have nothing but praise for everyone and everything associated with Tharp Funeral Home.”

Carolyn C. White Jackson, MS July 21, 2014

“We cannot adequately express our sincere gratitude for your supreme level of service. Deep in our hearts we knew that, second only to our Lord Jesus Christ, our son was in loving hands at Tharp. You truly set the gold standard in personal service. We are truly fortunate to be associated with such a fine group of caregivers.”

Jerry & Ronda Smith Forest, VA July 21, 2014

“You were especially helpful in explaining all the aspects of the cremation, from the initial startup through the removal of the cremains from the crematory. Being able to view this process enabled me to assure my family that our brother was not alone during this time. Thank you all for making this difficult and unexpected time so much easier!”

Harvey Clayton Raleigh, NC July 21, 2014

“Your kind and gentle manner during a very difficult time was exceptional. You were dealing with four very distinct personalities, yet took the time to listen and consider the wishes of each individual. Tharp seemed to understand and honor the value we placed on our mother’s life and made us feel as though she was still a part of us.”

The Daughters of Elizabeth West Tweedy Lynchburg, VA July 21, 2014

“Your presence was a calming factor. You guided us so gently through the whole process. Your professional manner combined with your personal compassion meant more than we could ever express. Tharp is a valuable part of this community.”

Eileen Lass Lynchburg, VA July 21, 2014

"In September you handled the cremation and memorial services for my nephew. Thank you so much for helping my sister and niece plan and have his memorial service. Your staff was extra kind to them in the most difficult time of their lives. Your facility was especially warm, welcoming, and beautiful. I can see why they chose your funeral home. Thank you so much."

Margaret April 17, 2014

"When my husband died suddenly Tharp Funeral Home was recommended to me by my friends. Jared was the director, problem solver, and guide through the funeral process. He found out what I wanted and made every thing to honor my husband happen just as I wished. A full military burial with bag pipes! I recommend him without any reservation."

Barbara Field April 17, 2014

"Words cannot express the kindness and comfort I have felt getting your notes on the special days of my mother, Louise D. Bolling's life, since her passing. Your notes are so touching on those special days when I think only my wife and I remember them. May God Bless you each day of your life for the personal impact you are having on those who need support. Your work is a blessing to all who receive it. Many thanks."

R.A. Bolling April 17, 2014